Project Portfolios group your projects into folders that can be assigned to select teammates. This is a great way to categorize projects by departments, locations, managers, or more and automating invites to projects based on the team!
Creating and adding to a portfolio
Your default portfolio is the General portfolio where all team members are added to on joining your team. Admins and Team Owner can create new portfolios.
The person who created the portfolio can then add additional teammates to the portfolio by selecting "Add Members".
Teammates added to the portfolio are automatically invited to all projects, both current and future projects in the portfolio as long as those projects are made public to its portfolio. When projects are created as "Private", project creator must manually invite members to the project.
Note: You can invite teammates directly to a project within a portfolio without inviting them to the portfolio itself. In this case, these teammates will see the portfolio name, but will not see the portfolio's members and other projects that they're not a part of. Clients will not see any portfolios but only the project that they invited into.
Projects can be moved across portfolios by Portfolio Admins. Continue reading for more information on this.
Managing a portfolio
Admins added to a portfolio are able to manage the portfolio's projects and members.
If a project is moved into a portfolio, the project's members remain assigned to that project but are not automatically added to the new portfolio.
A project can be moved by selecting Move in the project options and then selecting the portfolio the project should be moved to in the project settings. Admins or Team Members who are Project Owners (creator of that project) may relocate projects across portfolios.
This can also be done via drag-and-drop:
A portfolio must always have an Admin in place to manage it. If a portfolio's sole Admin wishes to leave a portfolio, they will be prompted to add another Admin or the Team Owner to the portfolio before they are able to do so.
Portfolio Admins may Delete a portfolio, but note that the projects in that portfolio will be deleted with it. If you wish to Archive these projects, you must do so before deleting the portfolio.